Welcome to UCT Libraries

UCT Libraries are a world-class repository of knowledge and innovative research. UCT’s main library, the Chancellor Oppenheimer Library, and its seven branch libraries offer a diverse array of study and research materials, as well as professional and expert assistance in finding information and carrying out research.

UCT Libraries are specialists in nine subject areas, including African Studies, Centre for Higher Education Development, Government Publications, Commerce, Engineering & the Built Environment, Health Sciences, Humanities, Law and Science.

The History of UCT Libraries

The need for a dedicated college library came about in 1829 when the founders of the South African College first expressed the need for a library for their students. In 1905, Professor W. S. Logeman from the Department of Modern Languages became the first Honorary Librarian of the South African College. When Hiddingh Memorial Hall was opened 1911, the ground floor became the home of the College Library, the first purpose-built library of the SA College.

Image credit: Architectural drawing of Hiddingh Hall,Baker Drawings in Kendall and Earle Collection, UCT Special Collections